Tags

, ,

2013-09-15 14.06.16

a welcome booth

Yesterday I popped into the Ethiopian  new year festival in Silver Spring for about 5 minutes.  Last year I went and picked up a coupon from an Ethiopian airways booth that got me a significant discount (although I never used it).  Surprisingly, I did not see a presence from the airline today.  There were vendors selling many Ethiopian soccer jerseys, Ethiopian food, representatives of an Ethiopian publishing house, a cultural center, and various craftspeople.  I’ve been to Ethiopia’s Bole International Airport several times, but I am not at all familiar with either the politics or culture of the country.

Keep reading for some pictures.

An Ethiopian food court

An Ethiopian food truck

Welcome Booth

Lots of soccer jerseys were on sale.  Including some for the 2014 world cup

2013-09-15 14.08.48

One vendor was selling an Africa board game

2013-09-15 14.08.28

